We use cookies to analyse the views of our website. By using our website, you agree to such analyse.
More information


The CMO of the Year award is the highest honour for chief marketing officer in Germany. From this year onwards the motto will be “From CMOs for CMOs”: the jury will consist of an additional nine influential CMOs – all members of the CMO of the Year Council. The original jury members, the media partners of the Innovation Day, Capital, n-tv and Horizont and the Institute for Marketing of the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich (LMU), will remain in post. The previous year's winner, Hans-Christian Schwingen, Brand Manager at Deutsche Telekom, will also be taking up an honorary position on the jury.

The fourth CMO of the Year award will be handed out on the evening of the Innovation Day, on 28 September 2017 as part of a gala event attended by the German economic and marketing elite in Munich.

Munich, July 13 2017 — With the direct involvement of well-known and respected Chief Marketing Officers in the awards process for CMO of the Year, the award is taking on a new dimension in line with the motto "From CMOs for CMOs". All the nominations this year will be made by the CMO of the Year Council, currently consisting of 50 members. Those with multiple nominations will be included automatically in the shortlist, from which the Council will identify the top 5. A jury of 20 people, with a balance of CMOs and marketing and media experts, will then attend a meeting over several hours to discuss the nominees and decide who will be awarded the title CMO of the Year 2017.

The award is intended to send out a clear signal in the sector, as Prof. Dr. Anton Meyer, Head of the Institute for Marketing at LMU and Chairman of the CMO of the Year jury, explains: "We see the Chief Marketing Officer as the real pacemaker for business transformation. He or she is responsible for dealing with the constantly growing complexity and fragmentation of the markets and must be able to coordinate a wide range of different communication and marketing disciplines in a precise way while also focusing on the respective company's objectives. The CMO of the Year award is a significant accolade, particularly given the ongoing discussion of the importance of marketing."
The 2017 award will be presented on the evening of 28 September as part of a gala event attended by the German economic and marketing elite at Alte Bayerische Staatsbank in Munich.

The 2017 jury consists of the following people:   

  • Horst von Buttlar, Editor-in-Chief of Capital   
  • Matthias Dang, Managing Director of IP Deutschland
  • Hans Demmel, Managing Director of n-tv
  • Ronald Focken, Managing Director of the Serviceplan Group
  • Florian Haller, CEO of the Serviceplan Group
  • Sascha Lekic, Director of IM B2B Samsung Electronics
  • Thomas Lindner, CEO of the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung
  • Prof. Dr. Anton Meyer, Chairman of the Institute for Marketing at LMU (jury spokesperson)
  • Ingo Müller, Head of Advertising Markets and Media Solutions at the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung
  • Frank Vogel, Managing Director of G+J Media Sales


  • Carsten Hendrich, Vice President of Brand Marketing at Zalando
  • Jürgen Herrmann, Vice-Chairman of the Management Board and Marketing Management Director of Ritter Sport
  • Antje Neubauer, Head of Marketing & PR at Deutsche Bahn
  • Bernd Rützler, Executive Vice President of Corporate Marketing & Brand Management at Kärcher
  • Tim Schiffers, CEO of the PARSHIP ELITE Group
  • Sabine Schmittwilken, Head of Global Brand Management at innogy SE
  • Hans-Christian Schwingen, Brand Manager at Deutsche Telekom
  • Fabian Seelenbrandt, Director of Marketing at Webasto
  • Anja Stolz, Head of Customer Management and Communication at Commerzbank
  • Hannes Wege, Sales and Marketing Director at Rotkäppchen-Mumm Sektkellereien

Dr. Uwe Vorkötter, Editor-in-Chief of Horizont, will also be supporting the jury as a specialist media representative.

About the CMO of the Year award

The award is taking a new direction this year. The focus of the award is on the motto "From CMOs for CMOs". Up to the top 5 stage, it is the Chief Marketing Officers themselves that are responsible for nominations this year for the first time. The evaluation criteria focus on success, image, innovation and internationality. The Institute for Marketing at LMU, led by Professor Meyer, will then generate detailed dossiers for the five finalists, with a balanced jury making the final decision based on those dossiers.

The award was presented to Dr. Ian Robertson (BMW) in 2014, Godo Röben (Rügenwalder Mühle) in 2015 and Hans-Christian Schwingen (Deutsche Telekom) in 2016.

About the CMO of the Year Council

The Council was set up at the start of the year in order to make the CMO of the Year award more representative for the entire sector. Around 50 influential CMOs from well-known German companies have come together to ensure the neutral selection of the candidates nominated for CMO of the Year. This lends the award making it the highest honour in the sector.

More information can be found at: innovationstag.de/en/cmo-of-the-year.


Claudia Kirchmair

Claudia Kirchmair
Corporate Communication & PR

+49 89 2050 2273

E-Mail: c.kirchmair(at)serviceplan.com